3++ is the new black – The painting side

Advertise with us now!

  • Pinktistics

    • 22,724 pinklets
  • Pinkets Advanced!

    website traffic statistics
  • Practice Centurion W/L

    Mech Marines: 2 - 0
    Tyranids: 6 - 0
    Blood Hammer: 2 - 0
    Flamestorm: 0 - 0

    Total: 10 - 0

    Latest game: Primary win for T6'R'Us Tyranids over Shooty BT:
    3-1 TQ to Tyranids
    1-0 objectives to Tyranids
    4-3 KP to Tyranids
    1255-1079 VP to Black Templars

  • Pink Army Generals

  • Click to get emails when Pink stuff is posted...

    Join 4 other followers

Blood Hammer versus Tyranids (Kirby v Puppy!)

Posted by Kirby on 26/12/2010

So Puppy and I did a game today on Vassal for Christmas fun… basically some more Centurion practice for me. AbusePuppy was using Tyranids in a Neozilla list and since Vassal is fail and only one army has T-Fex models, I ran my Blood Hammer list. We played mission 1 of Centurion which is spearhead with Table Quarters -> Objectives -> KP -> VP. I’m not going to do a full bat-rep because it’s on Vassal but will give some highlights and a beginning picture and endgame picture. Here are the lists (bolded units are KP):

Tyrant, OA, HVC, LW/BS, Parox, Leech
2 Guard
3 HG
2 HG
2 HG
10 Gants
10 Gants
1 Tervi (Cat, Cluster Adrenal, Tox)
1 Tervi
1 Harpy (HVC)
1 Harpy (HVC)
1 Tyrannofex (Rupture, Cluster, ESG)

Libby w/Jump Pack, Blood Lance, Shield
Sanguinary Priest w/Jump Pack, Lightning Claw
Sanguinary Priest w/Jump Pack, Lightning Claw
Sanguinary Priest
5x Sanguinary Guard w/Power Fist, infernous pistol
5x Sanguinary Guard w/Power Fist, infernous pistols
10x Assault Marines w/2x meltagun, Power Fist
10x Assault Marines w/2x meltagun, Power Fist
5x Assault Marines w/meltagun, melta-bombs
5x Devastators w/4x Missile Launchers
5x Devastators w/3x Missile Launchers
5x Devastators w/3x Missile Launchers

In the end I should of picked the Tervigons as KP but wanted to dissuade Puppy from using them in combat…it didn’t work lol. Puppy also was unable to really make a dent against my Devastators and probably should of picked the KP he was most likely to engage. It didn’t matter in the end. Puppy won roll and gave it to me and I picked the top right corner to minimise the hiding spots for the Hive Guard. It limited the view my Devs had as I kept them clumped together (I couldn’t see into the bottom right of the board) but gave me good firing lanes into his quarter. I combat squaded my ASM and reserved 3 combat squads all with meltaguns and one Priest. I started the rest of the ASM with no meltaguns and sarges on the board. This allowed me to get the PFists into combat early and drop the melta where needed. Puppy deployed in the usual style for Tyranids with his gants providing cover to HG providing cover to his MCs. He failed to sezie (phew).

This is the view after my T1. So a quick summary of the game and sorry about no vassal pics but undoing a logfile was too much effort, hence the posting here. Puppy was unable to create a lot of gants which really hurt him. One of his Tervigons rolled trip ones on T1 whilst the other Tervigon was alpha-striked out of existence T2. Because I’d reserved my meltaguns I was able to drop behind the Tyranid line and combined with Missile Launchers was able to drop the still poopable Tervigon. This also forced Puppy into a choice to either focus on the units down south and keep his army synergised or continue to push up and let me disrupt his back-lines. He continued to push up because he had no way to hold off the ASM and SG from my original deployment as he was running out of Termagants (I took out 2 squads on T2 which bubble-wrapped his HG and MCs). Although he was able to wipe an SG squad (but remained locked in combat with Libby) the combined efforts of a Harpy and Tervigon couldn’t drop a 5 man ASM squad with PFist. That 5 man ASM squad would end up killing the Harpy and putting 5 wounds on the Tervigon before dying T5 (the missiles then dropped the Tervigon).

After Puppy commited his forces to the north,  I was able to bring the rest of my army (final reserved squad and remaining SG squad) to bear on his forces down south (termagant squad, 2 HG squads, T-Fex) and all but wipe them out (3 Gants survived but fled yet would be regained by the Tyrant later on). After his Tyrant and other Harpy munched the Libby he moved both of these units down to attack my main army there and wiped out the 2nd SG squad which would severely limit my ability to damage MCs in combat. I essentially abandoned that position with my superior movement and was able to take down the final HG up near the remaining Tervigon but my missiles did little else. From then on it was me playing keep away and using combined assaults, missiles and melta to drop as much as I could and at the end of my T6 only the Hive Tyrant and Tyrant Guard were left and we called it there.

There were some pretty hilariously bad rolls on both sides (i.e. my missiles…missing and his MCs failing to kill a 5 man ASM squad) but what really hurt Puppy was the lack of extra Termagants. Although the game was pretty close throughout, once I was able to start running my ASM about he was essentially moving in circles and I was able to down his mobility, shooting and scoring options. The Tyrant can only do so much! (and it did a lot…). Here’s an end-game pic:

It was a good and fun game with some hilarious comments on Skype (I really need to get a mic…) and a nice audience. What really hurt Puppy was the inability to spawn after T1 and myself having a mobility advantage. However, after he dropped both SG squads in succession on T3, it looked like I was on the backfoot but his Tervigon contiuned to fail against the 5 man ASM and my missiles were able to finish it and the Harpy off which gave me a lot more lee-way.

Anyway Puppy, good game and hopefully can get another one in!

Concession win for Blood Hammer BA over Neozilla Tyranids:
2-1 Quarters to BA
0-0 Objectives
5-2 KP to BA
737.5 – 340 VP to BA

9 Responses to “Blood Hammer versus Tyranids (Kirby v Puppy!)”

  1. Kirby said

    Oh and a lovely example of the Jumper/Devs concept in work.

  2. Thanks for letting me watch! Was a good game despite bugs losing. You guys are a lot of fun!

  3. Brent said

    When do I get to hang out on Vassal?

  4. TKE said

    Was fun to watch and mess about – though timing was horrid! lol

    Also, this BatRep took me about 4 mins to read, as opposed to 4 HOURS of game! 😛

  5. Visorak06 said

    Question, how does one get a hold of the 40k version of vassal? I checked their website and the links are down due to copyright infringement or something.

    Btw great armies, it was an interesting read.

Leave a Reply

 
